Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Preschool/Pre-Kindergarten/Head Start

Community Preschool

Community Preschool is a fee based preschool program offering curriculum to three and four year old children. This program is designed for children who are 3 by Sept. 1 and potty trained. The program operates on an elementary school year calendar in 2, 3 or 4 day sessions.
Children participate in enriching experiences conducive to developing social, emotional, intellectual, physical and communicative growth. A daily schedule follows the fundamental premise that children are active learners who learn best from activities they can plan and carry out themselves. This program may be combined with the Preschool Care program for children who would benefit from a longer day.

Ages: 3-4 years

Locations: Community Education Resource Center (CERC) OR Paint Creek Elementary*

Schedule: Monday - Friday; Two, three or four day programs available. Pre-Kindergarten is offered in the PM at both sites. This program is for 4 year old children only.

Hours: Morning or Afternoon, 3 hours per day

Registration: CERC Early Childhood Office

 

Community Preschool Staff (CERC)

Teacher, Cassie Meeks, cassie.meeks@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher, Ashley Strzelecki, ashley.strzelecki@lok12.org

Community Preschool Staff (Paint Creek)

Teacher, Gayle Johnson, gayle.johnson@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher, Rachel Gladstone, rachel.gladstone@lok12.org

Pre-Kindergarten

Pre-Kindergarten is designed for children who will be 4 years by September 1st or are kindergarten eligible but may need an additional year of growth before entering kindergarten. This program is fee based and offered Monday through Thursday mornings and afternoons. This program may be combined with the Preschool Care program at CERC for children who would benefit from a longer day.

Pre Kindergarten provides enriching experiences for each child, giving them the opportunity to grow and develop at their own pace. Children will learn through positive interactive and hands-on experiences that focus mainly on social, emotional, language, fine and gross motor skills. The Pre-kindergarten program is aligned with the Lake Orion Kindergarten curriculum and provides children with a solid foundation in learning.

Locations: Community Educational Resource Center (CERC) – AM only
Orion Oaks Elementary – AM or PM

Schedule: Monday-Thursday, School Year

Hours: Morning or Afternoon, 3 hours per day

Registration: CERC Early Childhood Office

 

Pre-Kindergarten Staff (CERC)

Teacher, Corin Pate, corin.pate@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher , Brenda Muntz, brenda.muntz@lok12.org

 

Pre-Kindergarten Staff (Orion Oaks)

Teacher, Sharlene Pagel, sharlene.pagel@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher, Laura Hickey, laura.hickey@lok12.org

Early Head Start

Early Head Start (EHS) is a federally funded community-based program for low-income families with infants and toddlers. EHS evolved out of Head Start's long history of 

providing services to infants and toddlers and recent advances in the field of infant development.

The mission is simple :

  • to promote healthy prenatal outcomes for pregnant women,
  • to enhance the development of very young children, and
  • to promote healthy family functioning

Head Start Office/CERC
(248) 693-5687

Programs are responsible for the following:

Child Development: Programs must support the physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and language development of each child.

Parenting education and the support of a positive parent-child relationship are critical to this cornerstone.

Family Development: Programs must seek to empower families by developing goals for themselves and their children.

Staff and parents develop individualized family development plans that focus on the child's developmental needs and the family's social and economic needs.

Families that are involved in other programs requiring a family service plan will receive a  single coordinated plan so that they experience a seamless system of services.


Head Start Annual Report

Please have your 2017 taxes complete or household income* ready when you call.

*Household income includes 2017 taxes (parents, signifcant other, if supporting a child)

Qualifiers are*:

*Subject to change every year.

Ages: Birth to 35 months

Locations: Community Education Resource Center (CERC)

Schedule: Monday - Thursday

Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 3:20 p.m.

Registration: Head Start Office/CERC (248) 693-5687


Teaching staff

Teacher, Amanda Wells: amanda.wells@lok12.org

Teacher, Leah Burlison: leah.burlison@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher, Tracy Aceron: Tracy.Aceron@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher, Alyssa Morrison: alyssa.morrison@lok12.org

Head Start

Head Start is a free national program that promotes school readiness. This is done by enhancing the social and cognitive development of children through the provision of educational, health, nutrition, social and other services to enrolled children and families. This program engages parents in their children’s learning and helps them in making progress toward their educational, literacy and employment goals. Significant emphasis is placed on the involvement of parents in the administration of local Head Start programs. Children enrolling in this program must be 3 years old before Sept. 1, 2018.

Head Start provides grants to local public schools to provide comprehensive child development services to economically disadvantaged children and families, with a special focus on helping preschoolers develop the early reading and math skills they need to be successful in school.

The staff includes two teachers, two assistant teachers, social work/coordinator, nurse and nutritionist. Free meals and snacks are provided. Parents must provide transportation.

Contact the Head Start Office to see if your family qualifies.

Head Start Office/CERC
(248) 693-5687

Qualifiers are*:

*Subject to change every year.

Ages: 3 before Sept. 1, 2018

Locations: Community Education Resource Center (CERC)

Schedule: Monday - Thursday

Hours: 8:30 a.m.-3:20 p.m.

Registration: Head Start Office/CERC (248) 693-5687


Annual Report

Please have your 2017 taxes complete or *household income ready when you call.
*Household income includes 2017 taxes, (parents, significant other income if supporting child)


Head Start Staff

Teacher, Jessica Sanford, jessica.sanford@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher , Michelle DeWald, michelle.dewald@lok12.org

Teacher, Erica Rock, erica.rock@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher, Jennifer Jameson, jennifer.jameson@lok12.org

Teacher, Jennifer Cawley, Jennifer.cawley@lok12.org

Assistant Teacher, Mary Kay Anglebrandt, marykay.anglebrandt@lok12.org