Top Bar

Off-Canvas

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

DEI logo

In our increasingly diverse and multicultural society, it is more important than ever for our district to incorporate culturally responsive instruction and practices throughout the school district.

DEI, Cultural Proficiency Definitions

Curriculum information

Lake Orion Community Schools does not teach Critical Race Theory nor the 1619 Project as part of its curriculum. LOCS focuses on cultural proficiency, culturally responsive teaching practices, diversity, equity, inclusion, Social Emotional Learning, and creating “Safe and Brave Spaces” for all groups and individuals.

DEI Resources

Previous Presentations/Events

DEI Leaders

Michelle Cureton

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Coordinator

Michelle.Cureton@lok12.org

LOCS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) District Committee

Tricia O'Donnell

Blanche Sims:

Tricia O'Donnell 

tricia.odonnell@lok12.org

Michelle Russell

Paint Creek:

Michelle Russell 

michelle.russell@lok12.org

Jennifer Carpus

Pine Tree Center

Jennifer Carpus

jennifer.carpus@lok12.org

Teacher

Carpenter:

Jessica Ligrow 

jessica.ligrow@lok12.org

Shannon St. Dennis

Stadium Drive:

Shannon St. Dennis 

shannon.stdennis@lok12.org

 

Emily Pettey

Orion Oaks: Emily Pettey emily.pettey@lok12.org

Ryan Dawley

Oakview:

Ryan Dawley 

ryan.dawley@lok12.org

150

LOHS:

Marie McDonald 

marie.mcdonald@lok12.org

Jennifer Nicks

Waldon:

Jennifer Nicks 

jennifer.nicks@lok12.org

Melissa Berndt

Webber:

Melissa Berndt 

melissa.berndt@lok12.org

 

Dalton, Melissa

Scripps: Melissa Dalton 

melissa.dalton@lok.k12.org

 

Jennifer SMith

Learning Options: Jennifer Smith jennifer.smith@lok12.org

 

Pine Tree Center: Lisa Oja lisa.oja@lok12.org